The Connie Brown Freedom Award

Each year at the Platte Institute Legislative Summit, our staff recognizes a Nebraskan who has taken action to remove barriers to growth and opportunity in Nebraska by honoring them with the Connie Brown Freedom Award. 

Connie Brown was a passionate Platte Institute volunteer who left us too soon. We present this annual award in her name to inspire other Nebraskans to take a stand for individual liberty.

The Platte Institute staff welcomes nominations for the annual Connie Brown Freedom Award. 

Previous Connie Brown Freedom Award recipients are listed below:

2019 - Dawn Hatcher & Karen Hough

2018 - State Sen. Laura Ebke

2017 - Gail Werner-Robertson

2016 - Brandy McMorris

2015 - State Sen. Jim Smith